Strange Bedfellows

6.8strangeBedfellowsBnrVY

Strange Bedfellows is a visual art exhibition exploring collaborative practice in historical and contemporary queer art. Featuring the work of over twenty contemporary queer artists working in a variety of media, the show presents diverse strategies for collaboration and considers multiple authorship as a radical concept.  To date, the project includes video, photography, performance, sculpture, sound, textiles, painting, design, and audio/visual archives.  Featuring collaborative works by some of the Bay Area’s most influential queer artists, this is not a show to be missed.

Strange Bedfellows is a nationally traveling exhibition with accompanying catalogue, and is a fiscally sponsored project of the Queer Cultural Center. The exhibition will debut as part of the NQAF and then travel to the Samek Art Gallery at Bucknell University in Lewisburg Pennsylvania in Fall of 2013, before arriving in Chicago for the CAA Conference in February of 2014.

June 8
Strange Bedfellows Opening Reception
Curated by Amy Cancelmo
Exhibition: June 5 –  29
Root Division, 7pm
Root Division Gallery Hours (June 5–June 29) Weds to Sat 2 –  6 pm
FREE

sStrangeBedfellowsKeyphoto

 

Exhibition Website:  strangebedfellowsexhibition.wordpress.com
Facebook Event Page: https://www.facebook.com/events/507824885941404

ROOT DIVISION
3175 17th Street (between South Van Ness & Shotwell)
San Francisco, CA 94110
415.863.7668
Gallery Website:  www.rootdivision.org

Funded by Qcc and the Endeavor Foundation

ABOUT ROOT DIVISION:

Root Division is a visual arts non-profit located in the Mission District of San Francisco. Root Division’s mission is to improve appreciation and access to the visual arts by connecting personal inspiration and community participation. We provide subsidized studio space to working artists in exchange for their service in creating shared learning opportunities for the community. Artists develop creatively and professionally by teaching art to underserved youth, leading adult education classes, and producing exhibitions that showcase local emerging artwork. By combining multiple opportunities for creative exchange, Root Division cultivates an artistic ecosystem that enriches life throughout the Bay Area.

Root Division is supported in part by grants from the The Andy Warhol Foundation for the Visual Arts, San Francisco Arts Commission: Cultural Equity Grants, Grants for the Arts: San Francisco Hotel Tax Fund, Phyliis C. Wattis Foundation, Crescent Porter Hale Foundation, Zellerbach Family Foundation, W A Gerbode Foundation, and Bill Graham Memorial Fund.

CURATOR

sCancelmo.StrangeBedfellows

Amy Cancelmo received her MA in Queer Art History from San Francisco State University in 2011 and a BFA in painting from Syracuse University in 2004. Her current creative pursuits focus on curatorial practice, research & writing. Her most recent project “Strange Bedfellows,” is a nationally traveling exhibition and catalogue exploring collaborative practice in queer art making. The project is fiscally sponsored by the Queer Cultural Center and will be presented first at Root Division, as part of the National Queer Arts Festival in June of 2013. It will then travel to the Samek Art Gallery at Bucknell University in Lewisburg Pennsylvania (Fall of 2013) and the College Art Association Conference, in Chicago (Feb 2014) as the sponsored exhibition of the Queer Caucus for the Art.

Amy is currently employed at the Exhibitions & Events Coordinator for Root Division, where she oversees twelve exhibitions, and works with over 500 artists annually.  She has been curating solo and group exhibitions of Root Division artists and affiliates at offsite venues such as ODC Theater and the Spare Change Artist’s Space since 2011. As a curator Amy is interested in presenting work that addresses current social issues and creates opportunities for dialogue, learning and critical engagement by all participants. Photo: Micah Rivera

Participating Artists:

Bren Ahearn : brenahearn.com
Jesse Kahn: jessekahncreative.com
Chicago IRL: chicagoirl.com
E.G. Crichton: egcrichton.ucsc.edu
Sean Fader: seanfader.com
JRV Majesty Productions: jrvmajesty.tumblr.com
Alex Hernandez: hernalex.com
Sarah Hirneisen: sarahhirneisen.com
Darin Klein: http://www.darinklein.net/
Amos Mac: amosmac.com
Tara Mateik: http://www.taramateik.com/
Julianna Huxtable LaDosha: houseofladosha.com
billy ocallaghan: billyverse.com
Adrienne Skye Roberts: adrienneskyeroberts.wordpress.com
Annie Sprinkle & Beth Stephens: loveartlab.com
Julie Sutherland: juliesutherland.net
Tina Takemoto: ttakemoto.com
Angela Ellsworth: aellsworth.com
Chris Vargas & Greg Youmans: fallinginlovewithchrisandgreg.com
Angie Wilson & Amber Straus: angiewilson.org

 CQClogo